Deutsch English


Should you need help with your online order, don't hesitate to give us a call. We are happy to assist you over the phone:
+49 341 308 96 22(free-phone)

Sign up to our newsletter!

E-mail address*:

Italian Journey Quartetto di Cremona

Italian Journey  Quartetto di Cremona 

© 2012 (KL1400)
total time 70:49

Title available on iTunes

Catalogue no.: KL1400

EUR 16,95

19 % VAT incl.

Gift wrapping [i]: 

With Italian Journey, critically acclaimed Quartetto di Cremona presents an intriguingly intimate and authentic approach to Italian chamber music by composers Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901), Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805), Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924), and Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936).

Quartetto di Cremona ( is about to become the legitimate successor of the legendary Quartetto Italiano. Following a concert at the Wigmore Hall, the British magazine The Strad wrote: ‘dynamic contouring was as sleek and elegant as an Armani suit, and it tailored the music to perfection.’ In Australia, the Quartetto di Cremona was acclaimed as the ‘glory of the Perth Festival’, and the Süddeutsche Zeitung described them as ‘one of the most exciting quartets of the current generation’.

The Quartetto di Cremona was chosen for a project by ‘The Friends of Stradivari’ society in order to promote and develop the knowledge of the Cremonese art string instrument-making: an artistic mission which directly influenced Italian Journey as a celebration of genuine understanding and interpretation of this music.

Recent recordings saw a collaboration with flautist Andrea Griminelli, released by Decca. Their extensive tour schedule includes the debut concerts in Scandinavia, the USA, Japan, and China.

The violinist Paolo Andreoli plays a precious violin by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini (1757).

Für die Wiedergabe der Hörbeispiele ist der Adobe Flash Player erforderlich.

Neuesten Flash Player installieren

Pizzicato (März 2013, ge)

„Das Quartetto di Cremona hat eine echte kammermusikalische Seele. Die Musiker spielen, atmen und phrasieren miteinander”

The Strad (30. Januar 2013, Julian Haylock)

„An outstanding release. [...] How wonderful to hear Boccherini played with such poise.”


„It's a rare blend" [...] There may be many threads that sew this disc together, but the most striking is that at all times, whatever the tempo, texture, voicing or general disposition, you never lose the feeling that you are being sung, not played, to.”

American Record Guide (8. July 2015, Greg Pagel)

"gorgeously over-the-top, tender and sensitive"



[<back] | [Overview] | Item 2 of 2 in this category